AfriLabs extends membership to 34 African countries

AfriLabs, a network of technology and innovation hubs across Africa, has admitted 23 new hubs into its network making it a total of 123 hubs across 34 African countries.

This has extended its reach to 4 new countries; Lesotho, Burundi, Mozambique and Sudan.

“We are excited to have these new members join our AfriLabs family as well as extend our reach to more African countries. We believe that we are moving closer to an integrated and prosperous continent fostered by open collaboration, innovation and entrepreneurship and driven by hubs and their communities across Africa,” said Anna Ekeledo, Executive Director, AfriLabs.

“We are elated at the opportunity and humbled to be joining AfriLabs! We look forward to working with the Afrilabs members spread across the continent to enable startups to access legal services and also promote tech innovation amongst the lawyers in Africa. AfriLabs is a valuable and reputable pan African network, the Lawyers Hub is a proud member,” added Linda Bongo, from Lawyers Hub, Kenya.

Emile Raubenheimer, of Siyon Capital in South Africa, expressed his excitement at the latest partnership” We are excited to announce our partnership with the AfriLabs network. The start-up and incubation network that unlocks synergy in Africa. With AfriLabs we open access to our entrepreneurs to continental markets and African solutions for Africa and the world.”

Once a year, all member hubs and other stakeholders come together during the AfriLabs Annual Gathering to meet, network and deliberate on important issues that affect the ecosystem and Africa in general in a bid to come up with innovative solutions to Africa’s most pressing challenges and foster collaboration. This year the event in partnership with Sahara Sparks is themed ‘Innovation in the Data Age’.

The 23 new members of the AfriLabs network across the 4 countries are;

  1. Zixtech Hub, Limbe, Cameroon
  2. Jacaranda Hub, Lusaka, Zambia
  3. Enovate Lab, Kano, Nigeria
  4. Heartland Incubation Hub, Owerri Nigeria
  5. Hopin Academy, Tamale, Ghana
  6., Lagos, Nigeria
  7. Jongo Hub, Buea, Cameroon
  8. Apps Lab, Eldoret, Kenya
  9. Robotech Lab, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
  10. 10.Mzuzu E-Hub,Mzuzu Malawi
  11. Lome Tech Hub, Lome Togo
  12. Tomruk iHub, Jos Nigeria
  13. Impact Hub, Khartoum Sudan
  14. Lawyers Hub, Nairobi, Kenya
  15. Ingenious City, Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of Congo
  16. Innova237, Douala, Cameroon
  17. Ideario, Maputo, Mozambique
  18. Siyon Capital, Pretoria, South Africa
  19. Impact Hub, Bujumbura, Burundi
  20. The Hub, Morija Lesotho
  21. TechBridge Startup Hub, Mombasa Kenya
  22. Fastlaunch Incubator, Lagos Nigeria
  23. SwahiliBox Labs, Mombasa Kenya

Earlier, AfriLabs admitted 40 new members, to hit a total of 100 hubs.

Previous articleMTN South Africa launches Entertainment Pass bundles with free WhatsApp and Facebook
Next articleMicrosoft stops distribution of Windows 10 October 2018 update
Gbenga Ajao
Gbenga Ajao is a journalist. He has garnered experience in print, electronic and new media. He is passionate about mobile and web technology.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.