The New 7 Wonders of the World Announced but…

The New7Wonders organization has announced that the following 7 candidates have been elected to represent global heritage throughout history:

  1. Chichén Itzá, Mexico
  2. Christ Redeemer, Brazil
  3. The Great Wall, China
  4. Machu Picchu, Peru
  5. Petra, Jordan
  6. The Roman Colloseum, Italy
  7. The Taj Mahal, India

My question is simple. Where is Africa? It is unthinkable that no edifice/site in the entire African continent made it to the final 7. How could it have been when only Timbuktu in Mali made it to the final 21?

Whats more? There was absolutely no publicity about this event here in Ghana and I am sure the same applies to most African countries. I only got to know about this organization by chance, four days to the event when I was watching Al Jazeera’s English channel. By then, it was too late to rally any support behind Timbuktu.

Although NewOpenWorld Foundation was in Mali to present a certificate of nomination to the Timbuktu city mayor, I’d reiterate they did a poor job with publicity on the African continent. Shame on them.

Previous articlee-bullion closing-up on e-gold
Next articlec-gold debuts, but…
Oluniyi D. Ajao
Oluniyi D. Ajao is an Internet Entrepreneur and Tech Enthusiast based in South Africa. Follow him on twitter @niyyie for more tech updates.


  1. You’re right about that. I think its just a voting issue. More people have access to internet in other parts of the world. Timbuktu and Gizah were amongst the finalists.

  2. 😈 Please disregard all claims by NewOpenWorld Foundation. The seven wonders of the world are decided upon by myself and only myself. I am the only authorized seven wonders designator. All others are false and should be disregarded. 😈

    And about Africa: Giza’s pyramids totally outclass that Mexican one anyday. Giza is in. I have spoken. It is so.

  3. The point, is not to simply vote for whatever is in your country or continent, but to vote for the most impressive structure you think there is. If half of Africa voted for Timbuktu then we would have yet another unworthy wonder included such as what has happened in Brazil (Where a relatively micky mouse statue of less than a hundered years old is now a seventh wonder).
    Its just as well most of Africa where ignorant about the whole thing.

  4. Hi,
    I just want to give a kudos on this web site cos u have brought to my notice what I didnt know before………….More grace to your elbow and my the Good God be with you..ok

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.