Google is rolling out new privacy features to its Maps, YouTube and Voice Assistant services, with options including incognito mode and automatic data deletion, the company said.
Google has raced to launch a slew of privacy-related features like the search giant and social media companies face heat from users and regulators globally on how their platforms handle user data.
Google also launched Password Checkup, a new feature that tells users whether their accounts have been compromised or if any of their passwords are weak.
The incognito mode on Google Maps will stop saving maps activity to users’ accounts, including the places they search for, though it would take away their personalised recommendations.
The company said it will also expand its auto-delete option to YouTube, letting users to set a time period after which their viewing history data will be automatically erased.
In the coming weeks, Google will also roll out an option to delete voice assistant activity by verbal command: “Hey Google, delete the last thing I said to you.”
In addition to those security- and privacy-focused features, Google’s Password Checkup now comes built into Chrome. That means you no longer have to download the extension to quickly make sure that your passwords are safe and haven’t been compromised.